Home Sowings

As I hadn’t shown them yet I thought I’d have a quick blog update to show the progress of the plants that are in the garden, waiting to go to the plot when they are big enough.

I have about two thirds of our tomatoes left but they seem to be doing well, for this season I am just going to use growbags for them rather than digging, that way they will also help to suppress the weeds by covering them up, this is also what I will try for the sweet peppers, all in all I think I will have six to eight growbags on the plot and maybe two at home for easy tomato harvesting.

In pots we also have a good selection of cucumbers, three courgettes, and now after I have donated the other two, a single pumpkin and a single squash plant, all seem to be doing well now and living permanently outside, soon they’ll be up on the plot.

Also just starting to break through ar the runner beans I started last week in pots to get them going, and the broad beans that are a back up to the bird pecked ones on the plot.

Still at home and to plant we have the brassicas, mainly Calabrese, Summer Cabbage and Cauliflower, they aren’t looking the best, but it has given me ideas to work on for next year, mainly how to sow.

Also not be left out, I have finally bought some fruit plants, it’s not much but we have two strawberry plants in post outside the back door, and three than will go to the plot. We have plans for a fruit cage for next year, raspberries are a favourite and it’s a shame I was to late this year.

All part of the learning experience.

Tomatoes

Tomatoes

Sweet Peppers

Sweet Peppers

Cucumbers, Pumpkin & Squash

Cucumbers, Pumpkin & Squash

Courgette

Courgette

Leave a comment